What is Marzipan? For those of you who still dont know marzipan, let me tell you that you are loosing a great opportunity of tasting an incredible dessert. Marzipan consists of a pastry made up of Almonds (60%) and sugar (40%) and some honey. It is sold in small pieces drawing figures, and there are some other varieties of it depending of what do they fill inside. It could be natural (no filling), with egg yolk pastry, sweet potatoes jam, pumpkim jam and some others.
In Toledo (Spain) marzipan is one of the most typical food you may taste and as you can see looking at the indredients is naturally gluten free. The point is that marzipan usually is sold in patisseries selling all kind of desserts and patries. Santo Tomé, which is the Marzipan specialist in Toledo has just opened a new shop, outside the old city, where you can find a full assortment of maripan figures GLUTEN FREE GUARANTEED.